AW(some)18 Highlights: Hip-Hop luxe, Camel-toes and Female Empowerment statements to #SnatchYourEdges

This season was another head turner and that’s just the outfits I rocked! #YeahISaidIt

Let me introduce you first to my new ‘Toy Coat- of- Armour’ made by me and Katie @_Sassyfreak. It  features Black Panther, Doc McStuffins and WWE figurines alonside Barbie dolls and Disney toys.  This work of art was snatching edges in its own right. I also tied my hair up in the Kente for the culture. There’ll be more on this coat in another blog. S/o @teja_austeja for the papp!

 

 

 

 

Now onto my highlights from the shows I got around to. Once again London and it’s emerging designers did not disappoint!

Fortie Label at Freemason’s Hall was refreshingly CRUNK! The music and performance value from the models was lit! It was fab seeing a variety of lewks and many highly melanated bad b!tches on the catwalk. #RichSkinCrew

 

 

unnamed (2)

 

 

Fortie served us oldskool R & B and Lil Kim vibes with urban- luxe pieces of outer-wear and sexy swimwear playing on female empowerment and sexuality.  The energy was great and there was a strong sense of ‘unapologetically black’, sass and untouchable cool from each model’s strut. #SetItOff

 

 

 

 

I obviously went to Pam Hogg’s who continued her story from last season…

 

 

London Fashion Week
© marc aitken http://www.marcaitken.com All Rights Reserved.

 

 

Peeps were queuing an hour ahead and still didn’t get in. Word on da street echoed of around 200 people being turned away due to capacity. #Damn.

I was chuffed to be seated comfortably behind Jo Wood- however the build up and mayhem for Pam is always what makes ‘the show’. Pam’s notable mission statement, “I accept everyone for who they are, and who they say they are. It’s the individual’s right to make that choice and no one else’s” still reigned through. Here’s some of her best bits…

 

 

 

 

As you know I’m a big fan and supporter of creative emerging designers and fortunately, I’m also good at spotting (and rockin’) their pieces.  I went over to the fab team @FashionCrossoverLondon’s showroom and picked out three of their best designers to rep me as I got around for the rest of LFW. #Goals

 

 

ezgif.com-video-to-gif (77)

 

 

So on day two I dropped the silk satin jacket and wide leg trousers from fellow Kingston University graduate @OdellaYue and got em gassed… #WalkTheTalk

 

 

 

 

What I also love about @OdellaYue is her digital printing skills which are futuristic yet have a sense of reference to tradition.  She believes “the future of fashion should be more interactive and the consumer should be part of the creative process”. I dig that. #NeonWanderer

 

My fash-week ain’t the same without Billie Jacobina, so I was glad to catch her on the FROW enjoying the shows and taking over @FashionScoutLondon’s Instagram- looking forward to modelling for her again!

 

 

ezgif.com-video-to-gif (78)
@BillieJacobina #SassSquad

 

 

Another AW(some) highlight was the solid ‘Ones To Watch’ showcase from Fashion Scout London which showcased more emerging talent and recent graduates- all of which were #BossBabes.  Every collection was strong, creative and had #POW factor in its own way.

I was excited by the constructed trousers from @susanfangofficial’s ‘Airwave’ collection. There were some bold, structured pieces and once again a sence of female empowerment. I want them. Now! #AirWave

 

 

Screenshot_2018-03-12-14-21-36-1

 

 

Chinese designer @i_am_chen_official presented her colourfully interesting knitwear which went down the catwalk like beautiful paintings. I loved that despite the pieces being wearable and ‘familiar’, they are still original and fun- for me that’s what fashion and fashion people are often missing. #ColourToThePeople

 

 

 

 

Maddie Williams closed the show with some #Nextlevelshit padded out, multidimensional creations. @mwilliams_design was throwing some shapes. She bought the punk to the funk.

 

 

 

 

I also caught fellow Ghanaian Fluer East for some bants and a slick looking Lady Victoria Hervey in the the joint…

 

 

 

 

On day three I switched up and wore a #FlowerPower piece with traditional Chinese headwear from (another Kingston Uni graduate) @zhangninyao. Honestly, I didn’t pick em cos we all went to KU- erbody know’s Kingston’s got talent.

 

 

Screenshot_2018-03-12-15-42-57-1

 

 

 

Like Odella, Zhang is massively print focussed and where Odella is bold and baddass, Zhang is bold and ‘feminine’. #HauteHippie

 

 

 

 

I was called to model for Central Saints graduate @JohannaParv_ in her LFW debut. I’ve been a fan of Johanna since I was a fitting model for Central Saint Martin’s BA Womenswear students last summer, watching her collection build from portfolio to pieces and modelling toile garments in front of her lecturers (yes I’ve seen many enlightenig sides of the industry!). Her collection made the CSM press show as I had predicted, so it was no surprise she was doing fash-week!

 

 

AW18WOMENS-London-JohannaParv-Lillie Eiger-073-LO
Johanna getting me ready #FixUpLookSharp

 

 

The collection exposes and explores the restrictions, freedoms and objectification of women through clothing- with the main emphasis on being unapologetically female; vagina holes, camel-toes and all. #GirlPower

 

 

 

 

Her AW18 presentation at Dolphin House also told a story with references to 1930’s tailoring and the Soviet era. We walked around her bike sculpture (which was also a constant reference) in an eeerie confidence, rotating about the room simultaneously. Several pieces had clever detailing and functions (above) which were revealed on stage. Johanna worked with various fabrics including lycra, waterproofs and a leather which was made in Italy through a unique process for texture and shine.

 

 

 

 

The show was lit. I served raw sauce. No ketchup.  Just sauce in THAT red suit. #TooMuchSauce

 

 

AW18WOMENS-London-JohannaParv-Lillie Eiger-025-LO
by Lillie Eiger

 

 

To top off my AW18 get-arounds I was back at the BFC with Reflekt Mag’s @TymberSantos to catch the one and only Jack-WTF- Irving!

 

 

20180220_175532.jpg

 

 

Obviously for Jack I had to tun-up, so I wore the third design I picked out from @FashionCrossoverLondon- a zip-up- out-of-this-world jacket by Jisu Kang, which was made of a man-made plastic-like material. Killed it! #Lego

 

 

 

 

We caught Jack backstage alongside his partner in crime @rhysbensonsworld for a quick off- the- cuff, unscripted interview about the collection- on Tymber’s phone! Usually I interview Jack somewhere quite without the mayhem however with everyone else waiting to hug, congratulate or papp him,  we took this window of opportunity to be in the NOW. Watch  it all here #NoOpportunityWasted

 

 

 

 

I’ve been a fan of Jack’s  since his first LFW show, where he had ‘intergalactic glamazons’ strutting savagely at Oxo Tower. While we’re at it,  check out that interview (AW17) with Jack at On:Off Presents previously at Oxo Tower:

 

 

 

 

Since I hadn’t been to any parties- I headed out to the Whyte Studios presentation party with Tymber where the vibes was great and people were dancing. Yes- actually throwing shapes, bussin’ jokes and unpretentiously enjoying themselves!

 

 

Screenshot_2018-02-22-21-51-35-1

 

 

Miss Fluer East was once again inna the joint and we caught some bants. More details on that is shared on my Insta- so check out my feed. I skanked so hard in my three layers of clothing…I  eventually looked like I just came out of a sauna. But you don’t wanna see that do you? So here’s a sick pic of my #MelaninPoppin sqaud when we came through…

 

 

Screenshot_2018-02-21-00-49-31
Fiftyshades… @tymbersantos @cashkattitude papp’d by @788sultan788

 

 

The Streetstyle scene in London was noooiiice despite the cold!

 

 

IMG-20180217-WA0022
@bwoywonder @ariyapirsiahbazy 

 

 

Inbetween getting papped I paused to papp some of the colourful, stylish and interesting peeps around me. Check em out…

 

 

 

 

It was great to see Wakanda being repped too…

 

 

20180220_195647.jpg
#ForTheCulture

 

 

Big shout out to Fashion Scout London, The BFC, FiftySix PR, Fashion Crossover London, The Whyte Studios, Slingshot London, HPR, Hong Kong Fashion council and Pop PR!

 

 

ezgif.com-video-to-gif (80)

 

 

Catch y’all on the flipside next season!

 

 

240060_10150263472075152_2799466_o-2

 

 

Leave a comment